Portishead Without the Beth

Beak> is the name of the new band created by Portishead member Geoff Barrow and the two tracks up on their MySpace page are great shoegazing efforts, yet I seem to find myself missing the inimitable Beth Gibbons voice on them. That’s not to say Beak> sounds like Portishead sonically, but it is certainly reminiscent. Think trip-hop recorded live without the feeling of persistent tweaking and mastering.

According to the site,

The band have very strict guidelines governing the recording and writing process of their work. The music was recorded live in one room with no overdubs or repair, only using edits to create arrangements. All tracks were written over a twelve-day session in SOA Studio’s, Bristol.

Of the two available tracks, “I Know,” feels a little like a Factory Records riff while “Battery Point” has a UK drone appeal with a killer repetitious, percussive final few minutes.

I’ve already got my limited edition boxset of the debut LP on pre-order from the UK, which incidentally, contains

1) The Full length BEAK> CD album presented in a DVD case
with a bonus 4 track CD EP featuring tracks NOT available on the album2) A BEAK> heavyweight T Shirt – you choose what size you want S.M.L.XL

3) A BEAK> 12″ Record EP featuring 2 MORE exclusive BEAK Tracks
NOT available on the standard album

4) This will be sent in a special black BEAK> pizza style card box.. each Box hand sprayed by BEAK> members.. (no bullshit)

5) BEAK> Badges



1) Backwell
2) Pill
3) Ham Green
4) I Know
5) Battery Point
6) Iron Acton
7) Ears Have Ears
8) Blagdon Lake
9) Barrow Gurney
10) The Cornubia
11) Dundry Hill
12) Flax Bourton


1) Green Machine
2) Globus Hystericus
3) Clutton
4) Oh

BEAK> 12 INCH Vinyl EP.

1) Nash Hill
2) Granby Hill

This is the first ever release from Beak> and is limited to 250 “handcrafted” (see above) editions. It runs about $65 when converted from Euros. Buy here.