David Byrne + Fatboy Slim + Imelda Marcos = 2010’s Weirdest Boxset

Below there’s a post which mentions March 16th’s release of White Stripes for the concert film Under the Great White Northern Lights. So, obviously, I was surprised to find yet another boxset slated for release in 2010, this time February.

It’s apparently for a long-in-the-works project between NYC-based avant-garde artist/musician David Byrne and British electronic artist/DJ Fatboy Slim (aka Norman Cook) which is a tribute to ex-First Lady of the Philippines Imelda Marcos. You can find out more about the infamous First Lady here.

The two-disc set is titled “Here Lies Love” and is garnished in garish, almost romance novel-esque cover art. It also includes a 100 page book and a DVD. Couldn’t find anything detailing the contents of the DVD, but there’s a pretty interesting press release which explains the purpose of this “concept album,” how it began and what it all means. That’s here (courtesy of the Manila Standard).

Aside from all that, there’s the guest vocals. Spanning a realm of musicians that I never thought I’d see listed on the same record (let alone an Imelda Marcos concept album), Byrne and Cook have built one hell of a tracklist:

CD 1:

1 Here Lies Love (Vocals by Florence Welch of Florence and the Machine)
2 Every Drop of Rain (Vocals by Candie Payne and St. Vincent)
3 You’ll Be Taken Care Of (Vocals by Tori Amos)
4 The Rose of Tacloban (Vocals by Martha Wainwright)
5 How Are you? (Vocals by Nellie McKay)
6 A Perfect Hand (Vocals by Steve Earle)
7 Eleven Days (Vocals by Cyndi Lauper)
8 When She Passed By (Vocals by Allison Moorer)
9 Walk Like A Woman Vocals by Charmaine Clamor)
10 Don’t You Agree? (Vocals by Róisín Murphy)
11 Pretty Face (Vocals by Camille)
12 Ladies in Blue (Vocals by Theresa Andersson)

CD 2:

1 Dancing Together (Vocals by Sharon Jones)
2 Men Will Do Anything (Vocals by Alice Russell)
3 The Whole Man (Vocals by Kate Pierson)
4 Never So Big (Vocals by Sia)
5 Please Don’t (Vocals by Santigold)
6 American Troglodyte (Vocals by David Byrne)
7 Solano Avenue (Vocals by Nicole Atkins)
8 Order 1081 (Vocals by Natalie Merchant)
9 Seven Years (Vocals by David Byrne and Shara Worden)
10 Why Don’t You Love Me? (Vocals by Cyndi Lauper and Tori Amos)


Tell me what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s